Posted on


IELTS, since it is in the abbreviated form, it stands for a longer term. In general, it actually means International English Language Testing System. There are no means by which one’s level in the English language can be tested as to how good or bad one is in it, so a consortium of institutes from the mainly English speaking countries such as the United Kingdom and Australia came up with it.

This was mainly done in order that those countries where English is the primary language can ascertain how well a person passes off in the language. Many people and students like to study or permanently migrate to those countries where not only it is the main language spoken by the people but also used in all walks of life. So that they are able to satisfactorily integrate into their academic and social fabrics, they become a requisite by academic institutes and government agencies to gain entry.

Institutions and government agencies make it somehow mandatory that you send your IELTS scores to them for language proficiency insight of you, in order to gauge whether they should or shouldn’t accept you for whatever reason you have applied, in countries such as Australia, the United Kingdom and Canada. Even Most Educational Institutes in the United States accept IELTS scores if TOEFL is not opted for.

What IELTS All About?

It is a test conducted on a particular day in the four areas of a language, such as your ability to understand the language, your ability to read in the language, your ability write in the language and your ability to speak in the language. Hence come the four modules of listening, reading, writing and speaking. There are two form of IELTS test taken – Academic IELTS and General IELTS. Both are the same for the listening and speaking modules but different in the reading and writing modules where the formats are somewhat the same.

Your right – it’s as four tests in one test. On the particular exam day, you will be tested in three modules, where you in some way need to put pen to paper and one module where you only speak and do nothing else, is conducted on another day.

About the Four IELTS Modules

Each of the modules is of one hour except for the speaking module that is done totally on another day. On the day of the test, after being seated in your allotted place, you will start off by doing the listening module first for about an hour, which is then followed by the reading module for another hour and finally the writing module. The speaking module where you only speaking a set of asked questions is for a fifteen minutes and on another day, that you will informed about the time and place. In Kathmandu the tests are conducted at some halls belonging to three or four star hotels by the concerned IELTS agencies like the British Council or IDP

The Listening Module

The listening module is the first of the IELTS test. It is a test that takes a maximum of an hour to complete. In it you are made to listen to four sections and to answer objective questions as you are doing so on a answer paper so provided. More on this module to the post mainly meant for it.

The Reading Module

The reading module is the second of the test conducted on the main day. The test has to be completed and handed in within a stipulated time of one hour. In it you are to read three passages and answer a set of forty objective questions on the answer sheet provided mainly for the intended purpose. More on this module in the post intended for this purpose. In the reading module, the general test is different from the academic one where it is easier in the former.

The Writing Module

The writing module is the next test that you will encounter on the main testing day. In it you are to write on two topics provided and complete both within a period of one hour. The formats for general test are easier and different from the academic one. More of this in the intended post mainly for it.

The Speaking Module

The speaking module is the last of the IELTS test and it is usually conducted within week or after the main test which is usually on a Saturday. In it you are asked question in three different portions and to answer in proper English as to what you assume they are. More on this on the meant for it.


Your ability in all four modules is gauge on a scale of zero to nine total score of zero to nine on the aggregate of all four modules. The higher you are towards nine, the better you are said to be in the language. There is no failure level as such.

This is a short insight in what IELTS is all about and the test can be taken from the British Council in Nepal after paying a test fee of about NRS 12,500 and your photo copies of your passport. For IELTS classes by me, check the criteria out at the Page IELTS in Kathmandu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *